Teriyaki Baked Chicken

image

November and December are months of celebrations for me – Leah’s birthday, Christmas party, and more Christmas parties. I’m always on the lookout of easy recipes that I prepare and feed my guests until they are ‘belly-happy’! This recipe I found online is from CHOW Recipe website, it’s called “Asian-Marinated Baked Chicken Recipe”. After preparing twice, I thought I could share my tips with this recipe. Btw, my sister said it tasted like Teriyaki Chicken!

Here’s my improvised version of the teriyaki baked chicken.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup light soy sauce
1/4 cup brown sugar
3 tablespoons grated fresh ginger (from 1 [3- to 4-inch] piece) – I used a mini grater, the kind like a plate with mini bumps on it.
1 tablespoon grated garlic (from about 5 medium cloves) – I used a mini grater.
2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper – I didn’t use black pepper as there were kids eating with us.
1kg boneless chicken thighs with skin intact, that’s about 4 pieces of thighs.

Procedures:
MARINATE
1. Remove fats from the thighs with a pair of kitchen scissors. Snip them off! That’s personal preference. You can leave them on if you want. Just to let you know, the layer of fats between the skin and meat is enough to produce oil to make the roasted meat juicy so you can really do without the rest of the fats.
2. Wash them and pat them dry with kitchen towels.
3. In a large shallow bowl, combine the light soy sauce, brown sugar, toasted sesame oil, garlic and ginger. Mix well.
4. Prepare a clean glass container that you can seal tight. Alternatively, you can use the bowl that you have mixed the sauce in.
5. Dip one thigh into the sauce, flip and make sure it’s evenly coated. Then put into the clean glass container with the skin facing up. I prefer to have the first one with skin facing up because I find the marinating sauce gets a little oily if the skin soaks in the sauce. Repeat the step for the rest of the boneless thighs.
6. Pour the remaining sauce into the container. Lid on or cling wrapped it tight. Fridge overnight for at least 8 hours, maximum 24 hours. I found they were too salty when I left them to marinate for 2 days. If possible, swap the layers around so you get all the thighs marinated evenly.

BAKE
1. Take the meat out from fridge 30 mins before baking.
2. Preheat oven at 180 degree Celsius.
3. Line baking tray with foil. This makes washing a lot easier.
4. Place the thighs skin side down onto the tray. Pour in some of the sauce in. Just enough to make sure the skins are in it.
5. Bake for about 20-30mins or until the meat side is brown and cooked.
6. Take the thighs out. Empty the sauce out. Put the thighs back onto the tray but this time skin up. Bake for about 15mins or until the skins browned. You can leave this last process until you are ready to serve.

Personally I find that baking them in sauce then dry baked them with skin up, helps to keep the skin juicy and glossy. My mom suggested not to marinate overnight. Her reason being the meat tightened after soaking them in sauce overnight. I noticed that too. Perhaps I’ll try a shorter marinating duration the next time.

Give this a try and let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

