Homemade Granola

granolarecipe hder

If you have been following my Instagram, you probably notice that I have been eating quite healthy breakfast lately. I have always love granola that’s found in boxed cereal. Back then, I didn’t know what were those. After a few Googling, I realised it was really easy to homemade these nutritious snacks!

For this recipe, I took Honeysuckle Catering’s recipe and modified it to my liking. Personally, I don’t like pumpkin seeds and flax seeds in large quantities hence I replaced them with hemp seeds. This recipe has a mild nutty flavour from the hemp seed without the dry texture, and a crisp crunch because of the quinoa. This recipe bakes the granola mixture in a low heat and longer duration so as to remove the moist entirely without getting it burnt.

granolarecipe01

Ingredients:
1/2 cup quinoa – rinse it thoroughly to remove its bitter-tasting coating, and drained.
2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup almond, sliced
1/2 cup hemp seeds
1/2 cup walnuts, roughly break them into small pieces
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons maple syrup
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted.
1/2 cup cranberries

Procedures:
1. Preheat oven at 150 degree Celsius.
2. Stir quinoa, rolled oats, almond, hemp seeds, walnuts and salt together.
3. Add in vanilla extract, maple syrup, honey and coconut oil. Give everything a good toss, making sure all the wet ingredients are nicely distributed within the mixture.
4. Spread the mixture onto your lined baking tray. Make sure you don’t overcrowded the baking tray. I baked them in batches since my baking tray is small in size.
5. Each batch bakes for about 30mins. Give them a toss in the oven at the 15mins mark.
6. Remove the entire batch by lifting the baking sheets and let it cool on a cooling rack.
7. Toss the cranberries into the cooled granola and store them in airtight container.

granolarecipe02

granolarecipe03

granolarecipe04

granolarecipe05

Best served with yoghurt, ice-cream, oats and milk! I hope you enjoy this recipe like I do!

Leave a Reply

